Archive for November 9, 2009

Oh.. and it’s going to toll for Bubba in the morning, I’ll tell you what!!

I didn’t have a chance to go through my emails today .. the landlord is coming over on Tuesday with the county licensing people so I wanted to make sure everything was the way it’s suppose to be.

Anyway.. I got this email about 4 hours ago from Bubba’s teacher:

Hello,

Here is the email that I sent to [Bubba’s] mother just a few minutes ago.

[Bubba] had a rough few days to end the week. I am sending you the exact same information that I sent to her since I am not 100% sure who [Bubba] is living with at this current moment in time

[Bubba] had a few incidents on Thursday that I am going to explain to you first. He had an off day in almost every class. His morning started with him showing up late to school. When he got to first block he fell asleep and was snoring loudly. He was finally woken up by his teacher and asked to go out on a pass. She told him to do his work since he has been sleeping and then he could go out on a pass, he got upset with her and didn’t do much work. In his second block he locked another student in a closet and was also found with silly string. There was silly string sprayed all over the hallway before second block…no one saw [Bubba] doing it but he did have a can of it on him (as far as I know no one is making a big deal out of this). He then got to my class (where I actually didn’t know any of this had happened) and he moved his seat away from distractions which I thought was good. The students were then working on some proportion problems and [Bubba] did nothing, even when I did the work on the board he wasn’t doing much. I then caught him shooting rubber bands at another student across the room. I believe his last class was fine.

On Friday we did Fun day so the 9th graders spent most of the day in the gym doing different games. He sat in the gym without a problem. When the students went back to their classrooms for a little before we had a pep rally (it was homecoming) [Bubba] walked into his room and handed his teacher a piece of paper that was covered in brown paint. He told her “they didn’t have any toilet paper in the bathroom” and placed it on her desk. Needless to say she did not find this humorous.

I will say that [Bubba] has been doing wonderful in his afternoon sessions with me (which I had to cancel Thursday due to a meeting) but his effort in my actual class is dropping. He is pretty much doing nothing in my room. I just wanted to keep you updated on what happened because he definitely had a few issues. I am hoping, along with [Bubba’s] other teachers, that this behavior does not continue in the future. Let me know if you have any questions.

Nice, right? So everything about what Weed was saying :: that the Crack Whore allows him to do whatever he wants to do .. that he’s on the computer all night.. that he has no supervision, etc. :: is true.

I was over at Bird’s house earlier so when I came in, Chief was already asleep and given the density of his snoring, he isn’t going to retain anything if I wake him up and tell him about the email .. so I’ll tell him in the morning.

I can’t tell you what he’s going to do… I can tell you what he’s going to SAY .. I can tell you how he’s going to go off on a tangent about how she’s nothing but this or that.. AND I can also tell you that he’ll say that to ME but I’m not sure what exactly he’s going to DO about it or what he’s going to say to HER.

I’ll have to update you tomorrow on that..

I’m not going to lie and say that I want Bubba back here. My house has been calm .. and clean.. and Spaz has been actually benefiting from not having the constant torment.

I’m not going to lie and say that I have the same feeling for Bubba that I did before. He’s not my kid and I don’t have to love him. I don’t have to care about him or his needs.

But I will tell you that that isn’t beneficial to anyone.. and because he isn’t my kid, I really can’t say too much about where he lives or what Chief decides :: or doesn’t decide :: to do about it.

If he does come back here.. and if he WAS my kid :: which it wouldn’t be because I would have NEVER let things get so out of hand :: I would take him to school.. pick him up from school and banish him to his bedroom. I’d even camp out in front of it if I had to.. no video games.. on computer.. no laptop.. no fucking nothing. Call me old-school but that’s the way I was raised and I think my parents did a pretty nifty job!

So I’ll just have to go with the flow and manage the damage.. and if it takes me having to run the store so Chief can be home in the afternoons to keep an eye on him then so be it..

Because, after all.. he’s HIS kid.. not mine.

Feel free to comment.. especially if you’re a step parent to a problematic teenager. Is there something more I should be doing? Do I have the right to feel the way I do?